Edit My Photo Challenge #1

Post-processing is one of the most important stages in digital photography. Not only is it a way to express your personal style, but it's also a great opportunity to further enhance the sense a story in the photo.

In this first challenge, I'm sharing one of my original photos (untouched), for you to process using the editing app / software of your choice.

I'll be updating this post with your submissions over the next 24hrs. All you need to do is send your post-processed image to hello@joshkjack.com along with your name and a link to your Instagram URL (so I can credit you).

You can download the RAW or JPEG files here: https://goo.gl/mNqJRv (link now expired)

Finally, feel free to ask me any questions about post-processing in the comments below. I'm no expert, but I'll do my best to answer!

Before: Original file (untouched) @joshkjack

Before: Original file (untouched) @joshkjack

After: RAW file processed in Lightroom @joshkjack

After: RAW file processed in Lightroom @joshkjack

Your Submissions:

Send your edited image, name and Instagram URL to hello@joshkjack.com to be featured here!

Katharina Fernández: @thestreetfeed

Katharina Fernández: @thestreetfeed

Ryan Cole: @atelier_dope

Ryan Cole: @atelier_dope

Fariz Hakim: @farizshakim

Fariz Hakim: @farizshakim

Mateaus Wilkinson: @mateauswilkinson

Mateaus Wilkinson: @mateauswilkinson

Lisa Upman: @liza_upman

Lisa Upman: @liza_upman

Royce de Wit: @royce_m_leblanc

Royce de Wit: @royce_m_leblanc

Petya Rogacheva: @petyarogacheva

Petya Rogacheva: @petyarogacheva

Andy Kirby: @mrkirby.photography
Ludvig Perés: @ludvigperes

Ludvig Perés: @ludvigperes

Gurtej Bhamra: @gurtejb

Gurtej Bhamra: @gurtejb

Yannick Légaré: @yan_mtl

Yannick Légaré: @yan_mtl

Felipe Mazzoni: @fmazzoni

Felipe Mazzoni: @fmazzoni

Petter Rustad: @mittenedhands

Petter Rustad: @mittenedhands

Ronaldo Santos: @rrssantos

Ronaldo Santos: @rrssantos

Thomas Rossmann: @tomwanted

Thomas Rossmann: @tomwanted

Joshua Britton: @joshua.britton

Joshua Britton: @joshua.britton

Cristina Bataller: @cristina.bataller

Cristina Bataller: @cristina.bataller

Saarah R: @saarahrphotography
Rejan Rashid: @kurdbaba

Rejan Rashid: @kurdbaba

Cătălin Bălășic: @catalin.b_

Cătălin Bălășic: @catalin.b_

Stefanie Pungerova: @steffie_pungerova

Stefanie Pungerova: @steffie_pungerova

Ebby Amir: @ebbyamir

Ebby Amir: @ebbyamir

Charlie Harris: @98.char

Charlie Harris: @98.char

Johan Hagberg: @hagbergphotos

Johan Hagberg: @hagbergphotos

Mitch Rosen: @focus_mitch

Mitch Rosen: @focus_mitch

Emmanuel van den Brûle: @emmanuelvdbrule

Emmanuel van den Brûle: @emmanuelvdbrule

James Rowan: @fstopclick37

James Rowan: @fstopclick37

Gavi Ravechandran: @gaviravi

Gavi Ravechandran: @gaviravi

Dennis Nop: @denntis

Dennis Nop: @denntis

Philippe Allard: @mister.allard

Philippe Allard: @mister.allard

Ben Lundsten: @blundsten

Ben Lundsten: @blundsten

Anth Winter: @anthsphotos

Anth Winter: @anthsphotos

David Cross: @david.cross914

David Cross: @david.cross914

Nikolay Bogdev: @nikolay_b

Nikolay Bogdev: @nikolay_b

Anselm Eitelbös: @anselm.e

Anselm Eitelbös: @anselm.e

Adeola Adeko: @hrsdee

Adeola Adeko: @hrsdee

Aurélien Essaïdi:  @aur_essa

Aurélien Essaïdi:  @aur_essa

Jack Leyreloup: @jack_leyreloup

Jack Leyreloup: @jack_leyreloup

Josiah Jose: @josiah.jose

Josiah Jose: @josiah.jose

David Quick: @dvlpingdave

David Quick: @dvlpingdave

Jon Tenholder: @thugcurse

Jon Tenholder: @thugcurse

Elton Delgado: @eltondelgado

Elton Delgado: @eltondelgado

Rodrigo Betancor: @uberrad

Rodrigo Betancor: @uberrad

Huan Zheng: @huanzheng1119

Huan Zheng: @huanzheng1119

Cyrus Chuang: @zhou__lu

Cyrus Chuang: @zhou__lu

Biel Granollers Bespin: @bielbespin

Biel Granollers Bespin: @bielbespin

James Magill: @jamesmagillphoto

James Magill: @jamesmagillphoto

 Ely Barrera, Jr: @medyoannoying

 Ely Barrera, Jr: @medyoannoying

Bryan D: @bdan_4

Bryan D: @bdan_4

Aditya H. Khandeparkar: @aditya.khandeparkar

Aditya H. Khandeparkar: @aditya.khandeparkar

Rex Adams: @rexjadams

Rex Adams: @rexjadams

Raj Tailor: @raj_tailor

Raj Tailor: @raj_tailor

MY favourite 3:

Thanks to everyone who took part in this editing challenge. The overall quality of submissions has been exceptional - you're all winners!

Picking out just one image was an impossible task so I decided to pick three instead. These photos brilliantly illustrate how post-processing can showcase individual style and bring the artist's vision to life.


Thank you for reading. Please 'like' and feel free to ask any questions below (no login required).

Website links: